About us

  • Share /
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

About West Midlands Museum Development

The West Midlands Museum Development programme (WMMD) was established in April 2015 with funding from Arts Council England and is managed by Ironbridge Gorge Museum Trust.

Through grants, free training and projects the programme supports Accredited museums and those Working Towards Accreditation across the wider West Midlands region to develop, thrive and reflect the rich diversity and cultural heritage of the region.

By working in partnership through the national MDUK steering group, National Portfolio Organisations (NPOs) and Sector Support Organisations (SSOs) WMMD harnesses experience and examples of best practice from both within and outside the sector.  WMMD facilitates discussions on new and innovative ways of providing access to collections, increasing equality and diversity, engaging younger audiences and improving excellence.

The programme is  evaluated independently, download the 2019-21 Evaluation

About Museum Development

Museum Development in England is delivered by nine regional providers.  It extends across the UK and forms the national Museum Development Network (MDN).  Each provider tailors opportunities for participation in schemes, training, grants programmes and networks based on an informed understanding of the context and needs of museums in their area.

The programme invests in the development of individuals and organisations via a range of advice, information, initiatives and small grants and directly supports the delivery of the UK Accreditation Scheme for museums and galleries in England.

Arts Council England are investing £12.4m in the Museum Development programme between 2018-2022.

Museum Development Network published Our Impact 2015-18 which captures the reach and breadth of support that Museum Development teams are delivering for museums across England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland in the 2015-18 funding period.

About the West Midlands Museum sector

There are currently 139 Accredited museums across the region, including seven who are formally Working Towards Accreditation.  30 sites joined Arts Council England’s National Portfolio in April 2018.  Within the sector there are 14 Designated Collections, of which 11 are within museums.  The sector includes English Heritage, Independent, Local Authority, National Trust and University; with a diverse range of collections covering archaeology, archives, buildings, ceramics, costume, decorative and fine art, geology, industrial heritage and social history.

The region includes both rural and urban museums, providing an opportunity to celebrate and narrate their eclectic stories to the multicultural communities they serve.

  • Share /
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn